The Kodály Quartet, formed in Budapest in 1966 when its original members met as students at the Ferenc Liszt Academy of Music, has continued to exemplify the greatest standards of the rich Hungarian musical tradition that it has carried on with such extraordinary distinction throughout the world during over four decades of international appearances.

They were and are the ambassadors of Hungarian string quartet culture both internally and  on  international levels. They toured with great success in the last few decades in almost all European countries, as well as in the United States, Japan, China, India, Australia and New-Zealand. 

Attila Falvay

1st violin

Ferenc Bangó

2nd violin

Zoltán Tuska


György Éder


Kodály Quartet records

In addition to the standard classical repertoire, the quartet regularly performs works written by Hungarian composers such as Kodály, Bartók, Dohnányi and others.

Their records were met by critical applause worldwide. To present the works of  Kodály and other Hungarian composers is great importance for them. That is why they completed the re-recordings of Kodály’s both string quartets in 2014.